• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Session Id

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
9 replies to this topic

#1 RayBat

RayBat

HR 1

• Active Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 31 July 2003 - 06:17 AM

Hi everybody,

after understanding how to deal with dynamic URLS ;), I'd like to find out how to manage session ids. Most of the time I can read that session ids are just a "no go" for SEO and that URLs with session ids will not be crawled. (e.g. Shari Thurow, Search Engine Visibility, page 159: URLs that contain session IDs are often the kiss of death in the search engines).
I'm not a programmer (forgive my incorrect wording in the following statements :lol: ), but as far as I know there are three basic ways to implement a session id:

1) using a cookie
2) using a get parameter in the URL name
3) using a programm that puts a long number of signs in your URL as session id

First question: is that right? Are there more relevant options out there?

Cookies seem to be a nice thing, because crawler cant take cookies (do they?) and so there is no problem with SEO. But users can turn cookies of, so nobody who wants to do some "serious" user tracking uses cookies - right?

The other two options seem to have the problem of having a not-crawlable URL. Is there any way to deal with session ids?

I know that there is a script out there identifing robots and giving them URLs without session ids. This is not what I'm looking for because for this script you need the names of all crawlers. The search engines would not be very clever to use only one known standard name for their crawlers all the time, because this would open a huge spamming door...

Thanks, I hope this is a interessting one :lmao:
RayBat