Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

 



Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

 



 

 www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!


Sponsored Content

 

 
 

Photo

Yahoo


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 madams

madams

    HR 5

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 504 posts
  • Location:Costa Blanca, Spain

Posted 20 April 2004 - 03:55 AM

This blew my mind.

Do a search on Yahoo for "Spain holidays"

At number 10 there is a site called spain-holidays.com.

It has a PR5 but when you go to the site the only word there is "espera bnfxz"

When you view source, there is nothing, NOTHING! APART FROM THAT WORD "espera bnfxz"

No code nada!

Does anyone understand whats going on.

#2 McFox

McFox

    HR 5

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 332 posts
  • Location:Sunny Scotland; no wait, rainy .. no, snowing, ...ah Sunny again.

Posted 20 April 2004 - 05:19 AM

That SUCKS! The page is cached as "espera bnfxz" too!

McF

#3 burgeltz

burgeltz

    HR 3

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 80 posts
  • Location:Plano, TX

Posted 20 April 2004 - 07:06 AM

I did a backlink check on Google, and it turned up these two sites that link to spain-holidays.com with the link text "Spain Holidays:"

[http://www.madeiraap...s.com/madeira/] (PR 4)
[http://www.madeiradi...om/madeira.php] (PR 5)

Depending on the level of competition, these two links could be all it takes.

Interestingly, the other sites showing backlinks have a bunch of hidden gif links at the very bottom of their html source. Time for a spam report?

#4 AussieWebmaster

AussieWebmaster

    HR 5

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 505 posts
  • Location:Brooklyn, NY

Posted 21 April 2004 - 05:16 PM

This blew my mind.

Do a search on Yahoo for "Spain holidays"

At number 10 there is a site called spain-holidays.com.

It has a PR5 but when you go to the site the only word there is "espera bnfxz"

When you view source, there is nothing, NOTHING! APART FROM THAT WORD "espera bnfxz"

No code nada!

Does anyone understand whats going on.

Obviously reflects the power of the domain name in the algorythm.
Is it listed in the Yahoo Directory? Since they use the domain name that would be a powerful link using the keyword...

#5 Randy

Randy

    Convert Me!

  • Moderator
  • 17,540 posts

Posted 22 April 2004 - 08:21 AM

Yahoo reports 201 backlinks. All of them I bothered to look at where part of an invisible gif link block.

There's also a lot more going on in that page than is at first evident. Looks like some server side script being used to cloak to me. Notice how the "Title" of the page changes depending upon if you're coming from the Yahoo search page or someplace else.

Nasty little bit of cloaking and link farming going on there. I'd probably report them to Yahoo! and see if some of the other sites in the network get roasted and toasted as well. :)

#6 madams

madams

    HR 5

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 504 posts
  • Location:Costa Blanca, Spain

Posted 22 April 2004 - 08:51 AM

Anyone who can fathom this out, the link is...

(http://www.spain-holidays.com)

PR 5 - #10 Yahoo

Edited by searchrank, 22 April 2004 - 09:02 AM.


#7 OldWelshGuy

OldWelshGuy

    Work is Fun

  • Moderator
  • 4,713 posts
  • Location:Neath, South Wales, UK

Posted 22 April 2004 - 08:57 AM

Oh How easy it is for some people to assume that what they see is what is happening.

Many people talk about cloaking, but if they are good at it, then it is almost impossible to catch em.

There you go have a look at these pages check out the links etc from and to some of them, maybe you will see a pattern or something.
pages

#8 YungCEO

YungCEO

    HR 2

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Location:North Carolina

Posted 22 April 2004 - 08:59 AM

Check this out.

Do a search for "spain-holidays" instead of "spain holiday". The same site is#2 there and everything is fine. I wonder what caused the glitch in your example.

Also,

Spain-Holiday.com is listed in the Yahoo Directory as well.

#9 madams

madams

    HR 5

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 504 posts
  • Location:Costa Blanca, Spain

Posted 22 April 2004 - 09:05 AM

Hi Owg

Not sure what you are saying.

How does this site get the possition it is in without any content?

Confused by the confusion.

#10 OldWelshGuy

OldWelshGuy

    Work is Fun

  • Moderator
  • 4,713 posts
  • Location:Neath, South Wales, UK

Posted 22 April 2004 - 09:11 AM

cloaking is about smoke and mirrors, as I said, what you see is not what it is being rated on.

<edit spelling>

Edited by OldWelshGuy, 22 April 2004 - 09:38 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users