• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Site Audit

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Suffolk

Suffolk

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 03 November 2015 - 03:37 AM

Hello!

I'm quite new to SEO and only learning, so don't be very strict to my questions, please)

I want to know how to make a website audit: see all the errors, broken links. How should I do it? What else should I pay attention at while doing audit?

Waiting for your answers. Please, help!

#2 chrishirst

chrishirst

A not so moderate moderator.

• 7,718 posts

Posted 03 November 2015 - 05:55 AM

Auditing a website is something you learn to do as you gain experience and having a "check-list" does not mean that you are capable of auditing, sure you could follow the items on the list but that does not mean that you understand the implications of what you are looking at, and when it comes to what is 'best' for any particular set of URLs there is no "one size fits all" approach.

However, your first place to look is the site access logs, everything that happens or has happened on the site is recorded there.

• AvyGuttman likes this

#3 AvyGuttman

AvyGuttman

HR 3

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 95 posts

Posted 03 November 2015 - 08:43 AM

It also helps to find out as much about the company you are auditing as possible. Understanding their business model, their goals for the short and long term, and as much about their audience, targets, their customers etc... are some examples. 

#4 torka

torka

Vintage Babe

• 4,825 posts

Posted 03 November 2015 - 09:15 AM