• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Indexing Of Pdfs

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 alex1234

alex1234

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 19 September 2015 - 05:12 AM

Hey everyone,

I'm new to SEO. We are currently making some changes to our website and want to keep the texts on the product detail pages short and simple for improved customer experience.

For some product detail pages we have several keywords, for which we want to improve our rankings.

One idea was to include white papers (.pdf) which are optimized for said keywords. I already researched whether Google would index them and found that they would (as long as certain criteria are met).

My question now (might be dumb, but like I said, I'm new to SEO): If we manage to create a great white paper that is indexed by Google and gives us a good ranking: will that ranking be for the URL of the product detail page or the URL of the .pdf? So "company. com / product xy" or "company. com / productxy / 1234whitepaper.pdf"? (made-up, exemplary links; have added the spaces so as not to break [url=http://www.highrankings.com/forum/index.php?act=boardrules]Forum Rules[/url])

Thank you in advance for your help.

Alex

#2 chrishirst

chrishirst

A not so moderate moderator.

• 7,718 posts

Posted 19 September 2015 - 08:21 AM

Just like all results it will be the URL that the actual document is located at.

short and simple for improved customer experience.

Then do NOT use pdf documents.

PDFs are for documents that end users need to download and/or print, they are of very little use for improving the "website experience",  if anything they worsen the 'experience', AND really do get in way of getting a conversion from a visitor.