Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

 



Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

 



 

 www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!



Photo
- - - - -

Incorrect Google Snippet


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 clickcorp

clickcorp

    HR 1

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 03 September 2015 - 01:41 AM

Around 3 months ago we've redeveloped one of our sites and while putting up the new version of the site had an "Under Construction" page up for around 2 hours. It appears that Google has crawled the site while "Under Construction" page was up. Since then, description of our site in Google listing is "Under Construction".
 
We have physically removed the "Under Construction" page from the server. We've requested re-crawl from Webmaster Tools multiple times. Sometimes it has no effect. Other times, the Google starts showing correct snippet but then in a day or two reverts back to "Under Construction". It has been 3 months since the new version of the site has been uploaded.
 
I've even tired removing all files from the server and just having a single static index.html page. Requested re-crawl - snippet updated correctly within 10-15 minutes, but then goes back to "Under Construction" in around 2 days.
 

Any ideas?


Edited by chrishirst, 03 September 2015 - 05:18 AM.


#2 chrishirst

chrishirst

    A not so moderate moderator.

  • Moderator
  • 7,718 posts
  • Location:Blackpool UK

Posted 03 September 2015 - 05:36 AM

 

 

Any ideas?

Yep, It takes time, ... ... Lots and lots of time for all Google's servers and data centres to be synced up, and every time you change the data you extend the time it will take.

Every time you run this 'check', just like rank checking you are probably directed to a different server in a different data centre that may, or may not be synced up with the latest data from the site(s) you are shown as results for your query.

Set the document contents to the data you hope will be shown then leave it alone until Google's crawler has had time to retrieve all the URLs on your website/domain name. It may take six to eight weeks for this to happen, AND stop checking so you aren't 'fretting' about it.

 

Instead of checking, you do some useful promotion for your URLs  and let Google do what it does best when URLs are properly promoted.


Edited by chrishirst, 03 September 2015 - 05:38 AM.

  • clickcorp likes this

#3 Jill

Jill

    Recovering SEO

  • Admin
  • 33,244 posts

Posted 03 September 2015 - 09:02 AM

There's no such thing as "the description of your site."  Try doing a different search to find that page and I bet the description will show something else.


  • clickcorp likes this

#4 clickcorp

clickcorp

    HR 1

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 07 September 2015 - 01:50 AM

Yep, It takes time, ... ... Lots and lots of time for all Google's servers and data centres to be synced up, and every time you change the data you extend the time it will take.

Every time you run this 'check', just like rank checking you are probably directed to a different server in a different data centre that may, or may not be synced up with the latest data from the site(s) you are shown as results for your query.

Set the document contents to the data you hope will be shown then leave it alone until Google's crawler has had time to retrieve all the URLs on your website/domain name. It may take six to eight weeks for this to happen, AND stop checking so you aren't 'fretting' about it.

 

Instead of checking, you do some useful promotion for your URLs  and let Google do what it does best when URLs are properly promoted.

 

Thank you for your reply. It has been more than 4 months tough. First two months we haven't done any re-submissions to Google.



#5 clickcorp

clickcorp

    HR 1

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 07 September 2015 - 01:58 AM

There's no such thing as "the description of your site."  Try doing a different search to find that page and I bet the description will show something else.

 

 

Thank you for your reply. The snippet displayed by Google for many different seasrches is exactly the same unfortunately and it has "Under Construction" in the description.



#6 chrishirst

chrishirst

    A not so moderate moderator.

  • Moderator
  • 7,718 posts
  • Location:Blackpool UK

Posted 07 September 2015 - 11:28 AM

Thank you for your reply. The snippet displayed by Google for many different seasrches is exactly the same unfortunately and it has "Under Construction" in the description.

 
and some of the queries you use to get those results are? 
 

Thank you for your reply. It has been more than 4 months tough. First two months we haven't done any re-submissions to Google.



re-submissions of what?

#7 Jill

Jill

    Recovering SEO

  • Admin
  • 33,244 posts

Posted 07 September 2015 - 01:06 PM

Are you sure your site isn't still showing under construction for everyone else but you perhaps?



#8 clickcorp

clickcorp

    HR 1

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 07 September 2015 - 06:18 PM

>> and some of the queries you use to get those results are?

 

The site is www.chicempire.com.au. It is showing as "Under Contruction" for multiple queries ("chic empire", "ugg boots melbourne", "uggs chic", etc).

 

 

>> re-submissions of what?

 

In Web Master tools under "Crawl"->"Fetch as Google" then "Fetch And Render" and "Submit To Index". Doing this fixes the Google search results snippet for exactly two days (it shows correct title and description), then it goes back to "Under Construction"

 

 

>> Are you sure your site isn't still showing under construction for everyone else but you perhaps?

 

Yes, tried by multiple people from multiple devices in different locations, throught the proxies in different countries. "Under Construction" :-(



#9 chrishirst

chrishirst

    A not so moderate moderator.

  • Moderator
  • 7,718 posts
  • Location:Blackpool UK

Posted 08 September 2015 - 04:19 AM

It is only the one URL that has this 'issue', if it was the entire site you might have cause for concern, as it is, you should just leave it well alone and let Google's servers and data centres catch up with each other.

#10 Jill

Jill

    Recovering SEO

  • Admin
  • 33,244 posts

Posted 08 September 2015 - 04:47 PM

I'm sure there must be a reason for it. Google reindexes things very quickly. I'd keep trying to get to the bottom of it if it were me.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

We are now a read-only forum.
 
No new posts or registrations allowed.