• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Site Relaunch With Less And Different Content

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 mwisema1

mwisema1

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 08 February 2015 - 07:42 PM

SEO newbie here! I'm working on a site redesign for a plumbing company. They want to switch their target audience from residential customers to commercial. The current site contains a lot of unique content about residential plumbing and their page rank is good. So I'm worried that when I relaunch the site without all that "residential" content, their page rank will suffer.

If I retain all the "residential" content and use 301s to redirect to it, or just keep the URLs the same - but don't include any links to that content (making it invisible to users of the new site) - will that work to retain the juice they've earned from the old content? Any suggestions for a better strategy? Thanks!

#2 chrishirst

chrishirst

A not so moderate moderator.

• 7,718 posts

Posted 09 February 2015 - 08:18 AM

and their page rank is good. 

Who cares! 

will that work to retain the juice they've earned from the old content?[/size]

Nope!

#3 mwisema1

mwisema1

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 09 February 2015 - 08:32 AM

Not sure what you mean by "who cares!"  I thought I should care about the client's page rank.

So just to clarify, you're saying that internal links to the content must be maintained in order to retain the page rank earned from that content?

#4 torka

torka

Vintage Babe

• 4,825 posts

Posted 09 February 2015 - 10:47 AM