• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Seo Alt Tags For E-Commerce Websites.

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Nabeel

Nabeel

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 05 February 2015 - 07:09 PM

I am new to SEO and still in the learning process, this question might be very easy to answer to some of it. 

I am currently working on an eCommerce website; the website is built in Magneto. The website has tons of products and the variation of each product. For each variation, we have different images. I am using canonical URLs on the variation product to refer to the main product so Google doesn't have to index the variation of products.

My question is this: do we need the ALT tag for every single image for variation of products or since we are using canonical URLs, I don’t need ALT tags for variation of product.  

AND

What is the guide-line for using the ALT tags on products for e-commerce web sites? I mean e-commerce websites have tons of products and variation of products, how do they go about using ALT tags. 

I am looking forward to hear people's opinion. 

Thanks. 

#2 chrishirst

chrishirst

A not so moderate moderator.

• 7,718 posts

Posted 06 February 2015 - 08:46 AM

There is NO such thing as alt 'tags' They are alt attributes and they are NOT intended for the purpose of stuffing 'key' words in.

The alt attribute text should describe the image it is an attribute of, no more ... no less.

#3 torka

torka

Vintage Babe

• 4,825 posts

Posted 06 February 2015 - 10:53 AM

Sorry, you happen to have hit on one of Chris's pet peeves with that "alt tag" versus "alt attribute" thing. :)