• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

How Long, Google?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 MeredithC

MeredithC

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 22 December 2014 - 12:15 PM

Hey there,

As a maturing SEO analyst, I'm so glad I found this forum! I'll try to keep my dilemma clear and concise with the hopes that someone can help me. 

We created multiple pages on a business's website, all with different names targeting certain towns in our state. These pages ranked quite well (first page in the top 5 results on Google). However, because the towns are smaller and relatively obscure and searches are infrequent for them, traffic is not coming to the business's website and there are no conversions. We realized we needed to optimize the site to target a larger area where there is more competition and more search queries so they can stay in business. 

Bottom line is, I decided to ditch the pages targeting all of those little locations and just focus on optimizing the site for the one big location we need. This should, in turn, give more credibility to our site for that one area rather than trying to go in so many different directions. 

The pages all now return 404 errors (which is a good thing) but...