Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

 



Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

 



 

 www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!



Photo
- - - - -

Switching To Https - Do I 301 Every Single Page In My Site?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 lister

lister

    HR 5

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 426 posts

Posted 18 December 2014 - 11:30 AM

OK - we are switching to HTTPS and no - don't worry - I'm not asking the forum for any SEO 'benefit' from HTTPS - for us it is 100% cosmetic - it just gives a 'safe' experience...

So, with that being said, we have a checklist of things that we are keen to get right to keep our rankings...

- Do we have to 301 every single URL that we have and place that in the .htaccess?

Thanks!


  • DwightKt, Patrickwer and AlbertPr like this

#2 chrishirst

chrishirst

    A not so moderate moderator.

  • Moderator
  • 7,718 posts
  • Location:Blackpool UK

Posted 18 December 2014 - 12:55 PM

Nope! just redirect port 80 to 443 and/or HTTP to HTTPS


Edited by chrishirst, 18 December 2014 - 12:56 PM.


#3 lister

lister

    HR 5

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 426 posts

Posted 18 December 2014 - 01:24 PM

So just a simple bit of htaccess code to switch the ports will suffice?
 



#4 chrishirst

chrishirst

    A not so moderate moderator.

  • Moderator
  • 7,718 posts
  • Location:Blackpool UK

Posted 18 December 2014 - 05:19 PM

Yep.



#5 lister

lister

    HR 5

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 426 posts

Posted 19 December 2014 - 10:33 AM

OK Cool....but let me just ask you since I am curious....

My thoughts were that search engines index content and reference that by their URL - so wouldn't these two be very different?

 

http://domain .com/page.php

https://domain .com/page.php

Do SE's ignore the protocol, i.e. the http bit? I'm sure they don't....

My question is - would it be more prudent to 301 my high ranking pages as well on a one by one basis or is that overkill?

I just want to be 100% clear cause this is important for obvious reasons! Thanks again



#6 chrishirst

chrishirst

    A not so moderate moderator.

  • Moderator
  • 7,718 posts
  • Location:Blackpool UK

Posted 19 December 2014 - 11:35 AM

Yep, search engines map URLs which is why the protocol matters.

http://webmaster-tal...0-qt-uri-vs-url




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

We are now a read-only forum.
 
No new posts or registrations allowed.