Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

 



Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

 



 

 www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!



Photo
- - - - -

Do I Need To Remove Files/directories Form My Sitemap, Already Used Ro


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 WaldenPond

WaldenPond

    HR 2

  • Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts

Posted 08 June 2014 - 05:23 PM

I wanted some directories NOT to be indexed by Google and other search engines. To this end they were blocked using using robots.txt. In addition I requested removal using Google Webmaster tools.

 

Do I also need to remove them from the sitemap. And if so how do I remove from sitemap.

 

TIA,

 

Andrew



#2 chrishirst

chrishirst

    A not so moderate moderator.

  • Moderator
  • 6,771 posts
  • Location:Blackpool UK

Posted 08 June 2014 - 07:10 PM

At a guess;

 

Download the file -> Open it in a text editor -> Select the row -> Press delete -> Save the file -> Upload it.



#3 torka

torka

    Vintage Babe

  • Moderator
  • 4,585 posts
  • Location:Triangle area, NC, USA, Earth (usually)

Posted 09 June 2014 - 10:07 AM

Are you talking about an HTML site map for your site's human visitors or an XML site map you're submitting to Google? Is it something created manually or is it generated "automatically" by some bit of software? If hand-written, Chris's explanation is spot on. If generated, what bit of software is doing the generating? If it's any good at its job, it will have some sort of settings where you can specify what to include and what to exclude. If it doesn't have those kinds of settings, consider using a different method to generate your site map.

 

--Torka :oldfogey:



#4 WaldenPond

WaldenPond

    HR 2

  • Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts

Posted 09 June 2014 - 10:55 AM

Thanks for both response, they are helpful

 

I am using Yoast's SEO plugin. Don't see an option to exclude files/directories. I noticed that the directories are no longer are listed when I google site:domain.com



#5 chrishirst

chrishirst

    A not so moderate moderator.

  • Moderator
  • 6,771 posts
  • Location:Blackpool UK

Posted 10 June 2014 - 02:11 AM

OK so now we know it's for WordPress, ..... :help:

 

 

http://wordpress.org...gins/page-list/ Far more configurable than the Yoast so-called "SEO" plugin.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

SPAM FREE FORUM!
 
If you are just registering to spam,
don't bother. You will be wasting your
time as your spam will never see the
light of day!