• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

How To Do Seo With Backbone.js?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 webinfinite

webinfinite

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 06 June 2014 - 12:10 PM

Hi, Friends, 

I am a newbie on SEO and website development, please excuse me if this topic has been asked before.

I am having a toy website I developed to provide shopping suggestions to a small group of users. The architecture of my website is like this:

1. Backend: all ruby on rails. 

2. Frontend: backbone.js, it get data from backend through ajax format. But user has to log in first. 

I would like search engine to be able to find my site. I have following questions: 

1. Since our site needs user log in, how search engine to get data from us without login? 

2. I have checked online, there are ruby gems like: phantomjs and google ajax crawler. But I don't know how to use them. For example, the URL: www.mywebiste.com/123, this URL is actually answered by backbone.js because it already has all the data it needs sent by backend through ajax. How can I use phantomjs or google ajax crawler to render a static HTML? I didn't find any good examples on these two gems. Maybe you gurus have more suggestion? 

Thanks. 

#2 chrishirst

chrishirst

A not so moderate moderator.

• 7,103 posts

Posted 06 June 2014 - 02:22 PM

1. Since our site needs user log in, how search engine to get data from us without login?

It can't.

Maybe you gurus have more suggestion?

Yes, if you want your URLs to be indexed by search engines;

A:  Do NOT create all the content with javascript.

B:  Do NOT make it "members only"

#3 Michael Martinez

Michael Martinez

HR 10

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,157 posts