• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Seo Practices On An E-Commerce Site

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 lukasarvidsson

lukasarvidsson

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 28 April 2014 - 03:03 AM

Hi!

I have been working on a site for a client, an e-commerce site using wordpress and woocommerce selling spices in sweden. Link to the site can be found REMOVED. Now, I am primarily a designer and developer and not a SEO-expert, but I want to learn the best practices for creating sites that are user and search engine friendly. 

So with this in mind I have a few questions that I would like to get your input on:

1. In the sitemap REMOVED We have roughly 130 links that are the main static pages of the site, the main product categories, and the products. We have not added product tags or internal pages (like track my order, log in etc) to the site map. The idea for this was to only provide the pages that I as a user would like to find. What are your thoughts on this?

2. The amount of text content on the site is not huge (instead the focus is on the products), From a user perspective I think this is a good trade off, but how does this impact how the search engines see and rank the site?

3. Since the site was launched, some changes were made to the site architecture and the permalinks, this means that there are some "old" links still indexed on google (not to any important pages), wordpress automatically redirects most of these, should we just wait for google to reindex these pages or is there some way to manually make google reindex the entire site?(using fetch as google has not helped here).