• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Small Business Recently Had Ranking Ruined By Url Injection, Please He

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 coresash

coresash

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 17 April 2014 - 03:04 AM

Hi all,

Put simply, it's taken years of hard work to get my business to the level we're at now and I really hope one of you guys can help me out, or at least provide some solid advice. I apologize if any of my terminology is off, I'm a layman.

The root problem:

Recently, my website was subject to a URL injection attack. I was made aware of this only when I saw a "Hacking suspected" label beneath my organic search result and checked my Webmaster tools. Google had taken manual action against my website due to the attack, killing our rankings. For anyone unfamiliar with URL injection, they used a vulnerability in an old version of WordPress to add several new directories to my FTP, making spammy websites appear in impressions for users who were searching for phrases such as "How much of X drug can I take". The websites appear as if they were under my domain until clicked, at which point they redirect to the spammy drug sites.

An example of the links
34qs4k7.jpg

Steps taken thus far: