• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Order Of Key Words

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 JPDM

JPDM

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 14 December 2013 - 12:45 AM

I apologize if my question is too basic but I am a business owner trying to figure things out. This place seems to be a good ^lace to get answers.

We I google "China train tickets", we appear on the second page of results. But if I search "Train tickets China" we are nowhere to be seen (I stopped looking after page 5). 

Why does the order matter when using the same key words in both searches? What can I do about it.

Thanks to all for helping an amateur!

• mattylad likes this

#2 chrishirst

chrishirst

A not so moderate moderator.

• 7,018 posts

Posted 14 December 2013 - 10:44 AM

Because they ARE different.

Search result algorithms have to decide what a query actually means and what the user is actually looking for.

"China train tickets" could be taken literally as (Train tickets [made in] China). or (Train tickets [made of] China)

while

"Train tickets China" could be (Train tickets [in] China), (Train tickets [to] China)
or (Train tickets [for] China)

Edited by chrishirst, 14 December 2013 - 10:46 AM.

• mattylad likes this

#3 JPDM

JPDM

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 14 December 2013 - 11:22 AM

Ok. Makes sense. So I need not only worry about key words in my website, I also need to pay attention to expressions.

Thanks.

• mattylad likes this

#4 chrishirst

chrishirst

• 7,018 posts

Posted 14 December 2013 - 01:10 PM

So I need not only worry about key words in my website, I also need to pay attention to expressions.

Thanks.

Neither,

Have content that makes sense to USERS not search engines.