• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Ranking For Head Keyword Not Longtail Version

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 goldenhurricane

goldenhurricane

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 25 October 2013 - 05:55 PM

Hi,

I'm fairly new to SEO and have a question about our website ranking if I may.

We run an online pet supplies company and we have optimised our homepage so that we rank at the top of google for the head keywords "pet supplies" and "pet products".

However, we do not rank on page 1 for the phrases "pet supplies online" or "pet products online", even though on the page and title almost every instance of the head word is followed by the word "online".

This confuses me, as I thought it would be harder to rank for the head word, given it has more searches according to google keywords tool.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Kind regards,

Shanon

#2 qwerty

qwerty

HR 10

• 8,579 posts

Posted 26 October 2013 - 07:17 AM

First, a quick caveat: no matter how you're checking your rankings, you're not seeing anything universal. There are no universal rankings, and haven't been for years, so if you see that you're ranking well for one term and not so well for another, that certainly doesn't mean that's what everyone running those searches experiences. Far more important than checking your rankings is looking at whether those keywords are bringing you traffic (which is harder to see than it used to be because of (not provided)) and whether the people arriving at your site via those searches are actually converting.