• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Multiple Sites Linking To Main Site All On Same Server

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 rosietudor

rosietudor

HR 2

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 09 October 2013 - 04:11 AM

I've been trying to clear up the bad link profile of a company's main website, one thing I've come across is that they own 50 other websites that are all hosted on the same server (same IP address) and all point to their main site!!!

I'm new to the SEO game but my brief knowledge says this is not good practice and Google penalises this activity - am I right?

If I am right, then I guess the best thing to do is stop all the links going to the main site but the company does get genuine clicks from these other sites to their main one so I was wondering if simply marking all the links as "nofollow" would suffice and Google would then not penalise them for such activities?

#2 Jill

Jill

Recovering SEO

• Admin
  • 33,244 posts

Posted 09 October 2013 - 07:32 AM

What do you mean by point to?

If they are just redirected domains, it's fine.

#3 chrishirst

chrishirst

A not so moderate moderator.

• 7,718 posts

Posted 09 October 2013 - 07:36 AM

I'm new to the SEO game but my brief knowledge says this is not good practice and Google penalises this activity - am I right?

The short answers are: (in order)

It depends

and

Possibly

The longer answers are, if the 'mini' sites have good information on them regarding the products or services and exist for REAL users rather than the "link value", then it isn't likely to be a real problem.

If they are simply "thin content" document sites intended for search engine 'benefit', then they could be doing more harm than good for Search.

#4 rosietudor