• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Redirect? Duplicate Content? Google Not Indexing Site

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 tmccoy

tmccoy

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 10 July 2013 - 06:16 AM

I've been working on optimizing the content on a site since March 1st and having issues with Google indexing pages. Currently,Google Webmaster Tools is showing nearly 200 page sitemaps indexed but, only 7 pages are indexed. I'm relatively new to SEO (started about a year ago) and I've mostly only worked with the content, so I'm at a loss on what to do. Here's the scoop...

The site has been through a few changes in multiple stages since late February. First, a wordpress blog was added to a new domain and redirected to a blog page within the html site. I blogged 3x per week for first month, and no significant increase in web traffic, pages indexed, nothing. 

Next, they switched the entire html site to wordpress in May. Since then there has been a significant increase in traffic but, still only 7 pages have been indexed. 

I'm convinced that there is something going on with the redirects, old site maps, or something that is not allowing Google to index these pages. 

I don't handle the "technical" side of the site maintenance and the person that does is clueless about SEO... any advice on things I could check, troubleshoot, etc is much appreciated!! 

#2 qwerty

qwerty

HR 10

• 8,602 posts

Posted 10 July 2013 - 09:33 AM