Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

 



Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

 



 

 www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!



Photo
- - - - -

Canonical Tag Question


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 dannyboy

dannyboy

    HR 2

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 15 May 2013 - 06:18 AM

Hi

 

I asked my web team to add this for homepage variations which they did with an error(typo) but now its ok.

 

Im investigating why we have lost ranking on a keyword and whilst checking the page source of an inner url I see that the canonical tag is present to the homepage still?

 

Think this could be a problem?

 

Should it only be on the homepage?

 

Many Thanks Dan

 

 



#2 qwerty

qwerty

    HR 10

  • Moderator
  • 8,608 posts
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 15 May 2013 - 09:35 AM

So you're saying that an internal page, which does not contain the same content as the home page, is pointing to the home page as canonical?

 

Yeah, that's bad.

 

Every unique page has a canonical URL. If there are any additional URLs at which that page can be reached, then you should use rel-canonical to point out which URL is the canonical one. There isn't one canonical URL for a site, unless that site only has one page.



#3 dannyboy

dannyboy

    HR 2

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 15 May 2013 - 10:01 AM

Thanks a lot thought so!

 

Web people have already changed, hope not to much damage has been done.

 

Many Thanks for the reply

 

Dan



#4 dannyboy

dannyboy

    HR 2

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 16 May 2013 - 11:45 PM

Another one for you please.

 

We have a word press blog on our main domain and I notice that the canonical tag is inserted correctly to suit each post(probably a plugin)

 

The main site was redesigned and on migration and the majority of urls had 301 redirects done properly.

 

However with thousands of urls it has thrown up some duplicate issues in GWT

 

So my plan is to get the developer to implement the same method as the blog regarding the canonical tag?

 

Sound good to you?



#5 qwerty

qwerty

    HR 10

  • Moderator
  • 8,608 posts
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 17 May 2013 - 05:53 AM

If you've got a list of duplicates (which aren't necessarily duplicate pages -- WMT will give you a list of pages with the same title and meta description, but that doesn't necessarily mean the on-page content is the same), I'd 301 them.



#6 chrishirst

chrishirst

    A not so moderate moderator.

  • Moderator
  • 6,789 posts
  • Location:Blackpool UK

Posted 17 May 2013 - 08:34 AM

However with thousands of urls it has thrown up some duplicate issues in GWT

 

Check for session IDs






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

SPAM FREE FORUM!
 
If you are just registering to spam,
don't bother. You will be wasting your
time as your spam will never see the
light of day!