Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

 



Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

 



 

 www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!



Photo
- - - - -

Google Cache Problems


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 northamptoncomputers

northamptoncomputers

    HR 1

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Location:Northampton

Posted 12 March 2013 - 08:50 AM

We are working on a wordpress website (actual website is Removed – please remove the underscores). The website consists of 35 standard pages and then it has a traditional blog page which has around 25 blog posts in it. When the site was developed it was originally run from 1 installation of wordpress however a number of problems were encountered with updating the site and the coders suggested having a primary installation of wordpress to run the main site and a second installation to purely run the blog. This was accepted this and all seemed fine. This appeared to sort the problem relating to updating the website and the blog, however the site appeared to take a hit in SERPS ratings. We initially just put this down to the changes that had been made.
After quite some time, with no SERPS improvement (the homepage had pretty much disappeared from SERPS totally). It was then noted that if we viewed the Google Cache version of the homepage that is was actually looking at our Google Plus page for some reason. This code
 
<link rel=”canonical” href=”link to our g+ page”>
 
was present  at the top of the homepage. This was deleted and after two weeks Google is now looking at our actual homepage and SERPS results for the homepage have rebounded. So all in all, that was good news. Looking deeper into the site, it now appears that pretty much all the interior pages seem to exhibit the same problem in that the Google Cached data reflects the Google Plus page and not the actual website page. After searching for additional code that might be causing this and not having found any, we are now beginning to wonder is it due to 2 installations of wordpress, so 2 websites on the same IP address? So that is our first question.
Our second question is, what are the pros and cons of using 2 installations of wordpress in the first instance? Was it a really bad idea? Or was it basically acceptable? In any case we feel that the coders, whilst very well meaning, may not have had a huge amount of experience in these matters.
Any comments and advice would be most appreciated.


Edited by chrishirst, 12 March 2013 - 12:13 PM.


#2 chrishirst

chrishirst

    A not so moderate moderator.

  • Moderator
  • 7,018 posts
  • Location:Blackpool UK

Posted 12 March 2013 - 12:30 PM

It was then noted that if we viewed the Google Cache version of the homepage that is was actually looking at our Google Plus page for some reason. This code
 
<link rel=”canonical” href=”link to our g+ page”>

 

Well it does seem that the "canonical" link element functions as intended then.

 

 

we are now beginning to wonder is it due to 2 installations of wordpress

No.

 

 

2 websites on the same IP address?

No

 

 

Our second question is, what are the pros and cons of using 2 installations of wordpress in the first instance?

None of either really, though running WordPress in Multi-Site mode (like wordpress.com) is far simpler to maintain.

 

 Was it a really bad idea? Or was it basically acceptable?

No and yes, but it sounds like your developers were not that clued up on matter pertaining to WordPress



#3 Alan Perkins

Alan Perkins

    Token male admin

  • Admin
  • 1,642 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted 12 March 2013 - 12:42 PM

<link rel=”canonical” href=”link to our g+ page”>

 

 

This was the problem, which you've now fixed.

 

Incidentally, northamptoncomputers, I am based just down the road in Kettering ...



#4 qwerty

qwerty

    HR 10

  • Moderator
  • 8,625 posts
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 12 March 2013 - 01:14 PM

There's still the matter of the cached copies of the internal pages. It might be just a matter of time if they're not being crawled very often, but if that's not the case, you need to figure it out. Do those pages use rel-canonical at all? If so, are they pointing to themselves or elsewhere? Have you tried running them through a tool like SEO-Browser or Web Sniffer?



#5 northamptoncomputers

northamptoncomputers

    HR 1

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Location:Northampton

Posted 13 March 2013 - 08:30 AM

Thanks for your replies - they were very helpful.

 

In the first instance we think it may just be a matter of giving it a little more time for Google to re-crawl all the pages.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

SPAM FREE FORUM!
 
If you are just registering to spam,
don't bother. You will be wasting your
time as your spam will never see the
light of day!