• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Seo For Images

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 mongpv1

mongpv1

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 11 March 2013 - 03:14 AM

Hello everyone. My name's Su. I'm a newbie. I have some questions about SEO for images. Who can help me answer these questions?

1) What affects an Images Ranking in the Search Engines?

2) How to use tags in SEO for Images?

Thanks !

#2 qwerty

qwerty

HR 10

• 8,620 posts

Posted 11 March 2013 - 09:14 AM

The file name and alt attribute of the image seem to help, but I've found that it's still true that it's more about the page the image is on than the image itself. If the page is well-optimized for the keyword phrase, especially if the keyword phrase appears near the image on the page (think captions), that's likely to help a lot.

But all of that raises a question: what do you hope to gain from ranking well for image searches? Unless images are the business you're promoting, you're probably going to find that traffic that comes from image search (and traffic to images that show up in universal search) is not likely to convert. I had a client that was in the business of humanely removing animals from homes, and I noticed one day that they were getting a ton of traffic for searches on [mouse]. It turned out their picture of a mouse, on their page about mice, was #2 in Google image search. I doubt they got a single customer out of that result.

#3 Mikl

Mikl

HR 5

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 301 posts

Posted 11 March 2013 - 11:17 AM

I've long suspected that many people who search for images do so in order to "borrow" the image for use on their own sites. If that's right, it's probably not the sort of traffic you want.

Mike