• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo

Ga: Creating/combining Advanced Segments

Best Answer Jill , 06 March 2013 - 01:28 PM

Okay that one wasn't right. Try this one. This just shows a number. It's organic searches with new visits filtered to be the only ones included.

You can use it and add a secondary dimension of keywords if that's what you're interested in as well.

Go to the full post

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 qwerty

qwerty

HR 10

• 8,625 posts

Posted 06 March 2013 - 10:57 AM

I'm pretty new to using Google Analytics for anything beyond the most basic reporting, and I need to find a way to deal with advanced segments.

I know I can pick multiple segments and compare their data side by side, but is there a way to create a new segment by combining two or more that already exist? I'm specifically in need of a segment that will show me new visitors who reached the site via organic search, so I want to combine the default segments "New Visitors" and "Non-paid Search Traffic" into one new segment.

If I knew the criteria GA uses in those default segments, I could just stick them into a new custom segment, but I don't see a way to open up the default segments to see how they're created.

#2 qwerty

qwerty

HR 10

• 8,625 posts

Posted 06 March 2013 - 12:07 PM

OK, here's what I've created. Someone please let me know if I'm misunderstanding how this works.

I'm including visits for which Source includes google OR search.yahoo OR bing OR duckduckgo OR blekko.com AND New Visits is greater than 0 (I'm not really sure about that, but there doesn't seem to be a way to tell it to look for visits where New Visits is True).