• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

How To Tell Seo Contractor Did Their Job?

Best Answer qwerty , 30 January 2013 - 01:20 PM

I'm obviously very new to SEO work. I hired someone to configure my website a few months ago, and it eventually occurred to me that, if I have no knowledge about SEO, how do I know they did their job?

Before you can determine whether or not they've done their job, you need to know what they considered their job to be. It's pretty helpful to have your consultant or agency provide you with a list of tasks they plan to perform and some explanation as to why it's important that the work be done.

Obviously, it's too late for that now, but I think it would make sense for you to ask them to provide something similar: a list of the tasks they've performed and why.

Whether or not they did a good job of it is another matter. Depending on what they did, and what the site was like before they did anything, you may not see results in your site's traffic right away, so if there's anything on the list that doesn't make sense to you, you can always come back here to the forum and ask about it, along with maybe giving us examples of specific changes they made so we can give you our opinion on whether those changes are real improvements.

Regarding the rankings on your blog, if all you're doing is putting phrases like "[my keyword]" into a plugin that populates the meta keywords tag with them, that's not going to help. Search engines pay no attention to that tag. You need to have the important words and phrases in the body of your posts, in their titles, and in the anchor text of links pointing to them

Go to the full post

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 PileBuck

PileBuck

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip