• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Purchasing Website Recently Penalised

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 ClickClick

ClickClick

HR 3

• Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 80 posts

Posted 09 December 2012 - 03:59 AM

Hi

There is one particular website that I am looking to purchase that is extremely well established (it has been running since the late nineties), but seems to have been quite dramatically affected by one of the recent Google updates. It remained listed very well in Google for many years (I have been observing the site for around 8 years) and it is only very recently that a Google update seems to have penalised the site as it has lost, or moved down for, lots of its important listings.

My question is, if a website has recently been affected by a Google update negatively, would it be more difficult to build back in the future, or would it simply be a case of sorting the site's problems out and starting to build it again from the point it is at now (it is still listed pretty well). So what I am asking is will Google flag sites that have been penalised, so that it is more difficult to re-build them in the future.

I think that the loss of rankings might have been something to do with the fact that the main keyword is in the URL (I know that Google stopped taking this into consideration for listings recently), but also because the site is very old-fashioned and I don't believe it has had much unique content written in years.

Thank you, hope somebody can help.

#2 OldWelshGuy

OldWelshGuy

Work is Fun

• 4,713 posts

Posted 10 December 2012 - 01:20 PM