Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

 



Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

 



 

 www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!



Photo

Stop Words In Url


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 T.N

T.N

    HR 4

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 173 posts

Posted 12 September 2012 - 01:51 PM

hello everybody,

I once read before that stop words in URL are not useful, if not "harmeful" for the SEO efforts.

Recently I found in page 1 a URL with a stop word.

Example "not real URL"

TheMP3ShopUK.com "a fake URL"

So, my question is, Is it really a bad idea to have a URL with a stop word?

& What about a URL Like this: MP3ShopInUK.com? is it a good idea to have "IN" on domain as the one without "IN" is not available.

Thanks..

#2 chrishirst

chrishirst

    A not so moderate moderator.

  • Moderator
  • 6,958 posts
  • Location:Blackpool UK

Posted 12 September 2012 - 06:06 PM

"Keyword" URLs are NOWHERE near as important as you think they are.

http://www.highranki...s-domain-matter

#3 Jill

Jill

    Recovering SEO

  • Admin
  • 32,967 posts

Posted 13 September 2012 - 06:13 AM

There's no such thing as stop words.

#4 piskie

piskie

    HR 7

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,098 posts
  • Location:Cornwall

Posted 13 September 2012 - 09:49 AM

stop words
Used to be a frequently used term, but this post is the first time I've come across reference to it for several years. Best return it back to it's dormant state again.
  • Jill likes this

#5 T.N

T.N

    HR 4

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 173 posts

Posted 16 September 2012 - 07:43 AM

Thanks too much for your reply.

anyway, will be a bad idea to use "MP3ShopInUK.com"

thanks

#6 piskie

piskie

    HR 7

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,098 posts
  • Location:Cornwall

Posted 16 September 2012 - 02:18 PM

Not a good idea to post a Domain Name here or anywhere on the Net that you may be considering.
It's still showing not registered, but if you think you may want it, grab it quick.

#7 Jill

Jill

    Recovering SEO

  • Admin
  • 32,967 posts

Posted 17 September 2012 - 08:15 AM

anyway, will be a bad idea to use "MP3ShopInUK.com"


It's fine to use any domain name you'd like. Although if it's for the UK you should probably get the .co.uk version instead.
  • T.N likes this

#8 T.N

T.N

    HR 4

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 173 posts

Posted 28 September 2012 - 07:23 AM

Thanks jill,

another question please,

Which is better when buying a .co.uk domain: having "UK" on the domain or not

I mean which is better:

domain1UK.co.uk

OR

domain2.co.uk

thanks

#9 Jill

Jill

    Recovering SEO

  • Admin
  • 32,967 posts

Posted 28 September 2012 - 07:43 AM

Use any domain name you want.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

SPAM FREE FORUM!
 
If you are just registering to spam,
don't bother. You will be wasting your
time as your spam will never see the
light of day!