• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Penguin Recovery - 2 Techniques, Need Feedback

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 seoperson1

seoperson1

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 13 June 2012 - 09:04 AM

Hi community. I'm posting here for the first time to get feedback on Penguin recovery. I've been doing SEO since 1998, and I've never lost significant rankings in a Google update until now. Here are my 2 sites that lost traffic, and what I have been doing to get their rankings back.

I would like feedback if any of you have been down this road with penguin - or panda for that matter as well (because it seems that their are some similarities in how the two updates work to filter out sites).

1. Site #1 - Has been around since 2003, and has lots of old high quality links, as well as many low quality links. Some were acquired through SEO work, and some are completely natural. We lost about 60% of traffic from Penguin.

Because this site has been around so long, and has historically ranked really well, I am taking on the time consuming task of auditing all of the links and requesting removal of the ones that look the most like SEO. We also filed a reconsideration request because we figured it couldn't hurt, and our suspicions were confirmed when Google replied that some of our backlinks did not look natural. This indicates to me that our problem may be more than just the Penguin filter - that there may be some manual penalty applied as well.