• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Backlinks From Websites I Build

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Kris

Kris

HR 2

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 39 posts

Posted 17 May 2012 - 04:18 AM

Hi all

I am a web developer and my portfolio of sites is quite vast now. I also have my own website which is a portfolio of the sites I build with some additional pages on Web Design, Graphic Design and Branding which are the services we offer.

Now as I am building the sites for the client, I add a backlink to the footer of the sites which links to my own website. I can of course change the link phrase of the backlink on any site I wish and tyically it is as follows:

>Web Design</a>
>Graphic Design</a>
>Branding</a>

We only add one link per site footer but as some sites are huge e-commerce sites with thousands of pages, the total number of links can be very high albeit diluted somewhat.

My question is, is there any problems with linking back to my site from a website that (for example) could be selling Baby Nappies & Clothes? I.e. the backlinking website has absolutely no content in common with my own business website?

Could these links be seen as spammy by the search engines?

I don't think it has ever had a detrimental effect on my rankings however my rankings for the search phrases mentioned above have never been that great anyway so how would I know!?

Thanks for reading.
Kris

Edited by Kris, 17 May 2012 - 04:19 AM.

#2 chrishirst

chrishirst

A not so moderate moderator.

• 6,948 posts

Posted 17 May 2012 - 04:54 AM

I would think search engine software engineers are pretty much used to finding "designed by" links on other pages by now, and have long since created an "ignore these" flag.

#3 Kris

Kris

HR 2

• Members