Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

 



Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

 



 

 www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!



Photo

Google Bot And Hosting Provider Geolocations


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 sergiuliano

sergiuliano

    HR 2

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts

Posted 25 April 2012 - 12:25 PM

What will happen if I'll change the hosting provider from Europe to US for an European website?

Many thinks that will not affect the site position in SERP, but I am not 100% sure of this.

I would like to know how does google chose the location of the Google Crawler datacenter that will crawl a certain site ? It will be based on website geotarget set webmasters tools, will go for the TLD of the domain name or will just ping the hosting server and will choose the closest match ?

As Page Loading Speed becomes more and more important, I think the hosting location is becoming important to.

I need your advice on this.

Thanks

#2 chrishirst

chrishirst

    A not so moderate moderator.

  • Moderator
  • 6,663 posts
  • Location:Blackpool UK

Posted 25 April 2012 - 01:09 PM

Who knows, because it will actually depend on the country where the hosting provider IPs are registered.

1&1 have servers in several countries but all their IPs resolve to Germany.

#3 BusinessWebDesigns

BusinessWebDesigns

    HR 2

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Location:Gold Coast

Posted 25 April 2012 - 11:21 PM

One of Googles algo's is the location of your hosting. If you're trying to rank in a country having the countries ip in your hosting will boost your ranking slightly. So if you want to rank in the US get US hosting, If you want to rank in the EU market get EU marketing.

Hope this helps.

#4 chrishirst

chrishirst

    A not so moderate moderator.

  • Moderator
  • 6,663 posts
  • Location:Blackpool UK

Posted 26 April 2012 - 07:08 AM

Not always.


I have a site on a .eu ccTLD hosted on UK IPs that gets click-throughs from all over the world.

#5 Mikl

Mikl

    HR 5

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 289 posts
  • Location:Edinburgh, Scotland

Posted 26 April 2012 - 08:01 AM

My understanding is that Google uses three indicators for this purpose:
  • The country where the IP address is registered.
  • The country-code in the top-level domain (TLD), if any
  • The country specified for geo-targeting purposes in Google Webmaster Tools, if any
But none of these takes complete precedence over any other. And just because Google treats your site as being in country X, it doesn't mean it won't show up in search results for country Y.

Mike

#6 sergiuliano

sergiuliano

    HR 2

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts

Posted 26 April 2012 - 08:34 AM

It is not an issue of showing up or not , is it an ranking issue ... I have traffic from many countris , but I will still be able to rank in top5 google position if I change the hosting geolocation ?

#7 piskie

piskie

    HR 7

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,098 posts
  • Location:Cornwall

Posted 26 April 2012 - 11:34 AM

TLD is (IMO) the most important factor.
Choose the Right TLD for your Target Country and you won't have to rely on Geo-Targeting to maybe work or not.

#8 chrishirst

chrishirst

    A not so moderate moderator.

  • Moderator
  • 6,663 posts
  • Location:Blackpool UK

Posted 26 April 2012 - 03:38 PM

It is not an issue of showing up or not , is it an ranking issue ... I have traffic from many countris ,

but I will still be able to rank in top5 google position if I change the hosting geolocation ?

I thought you said it WASN'T a "ranking" issue??


If you "rank" in a top five position now that probably won't change, it will simply be that you might be in the "top five" for different searchers




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

SPAM FREE FORUM!
 
If you are just registering to spam,
don't bother. You will be wasting your
time as your spam will never see the
light of day!