• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

To Separate Or Not To Separate(keyword)

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 DOLwm

DOLwm

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 16 February 2012 - 12:33 AM

Hello I have a simple question as I am rather new to SEO.

I am working on a website
From Google Analytics I get about 10000 search visits a month for examplesite.com (one word) and 5000 for example site (phrase)

If I understand correctly, since examplesite.com is not equal to example site, what I choose to be in my webpage content(keyword) is based on whether I would like to continue the branding(examplesite.com) or optimize better for individual words like example site

Would there be any substantial impact if I were to choose one over the other assuming I want to BOTH continue the branding and also optimize for the keywords like example and site?

I would think that continuing examplesite.com would be better rather then breaking it up. Thoughts?

I would also like to thank in advance for any help provided!

Warmest Regards

#2 Michael Martinez

Michael Martinez

HR 10

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,145 posts

Posted 16 February 2012 - 01:48 PM

Searches for a domain name indicate brand value. You don't have to optimize for the domain name in your content if you're seeing that kind of traffic. You should devote your efforts to helping less powerful keywords.

#3 DOLwm

DOLwm

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 16 February 2012 - 09:04 PM

The main reason I thought of doing so was because:

**Example WEBSITE: www.catsdogs.com**