• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Links To Landing Pages

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Bryony

Bryony

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 09 December 2011 - 06:16 AM

I am a bit new to this and am getting very confused by mixed advice.

I launched my site several months ago. I have someone creating links to my 'Home Page' but this page is mainly a picture with a brief introduction to the site. - Not much text or use of keywords. However, for one of my keywords I am now ranked 17th on Google UK but not nearly so well for the others.

Somehow, I was led to believe that 'Landing pages' (with lots of text containing keywords) were the thing to do, one page for each of my targeted keywords. These have now been done and I am very happy with them.

However, the person doing the link building says - "It's good to build some links to other pages, but I have never targeted SEO for 3 pages of the same website and wouldn't do it myself".

I would really welcome any advice.

Thanks for the Great website

#2 chrishirst

chrishirst

A not so moderate moderator.

• 7,103 posts

Posted 09 December 2011 - 07:55 AM

However, the person doing the link building says - "It's good to build some links to other pages, but I have never targeted SEO for 3 pages of the same website and wouldn't do it myself".
Whoever said is talking out of their rectal orifice.

You should promote (build links) for EVERY page you want to drive visitors to. You want visitors to arrive on the most relevant page for their needs OR the page that gets YOU a good "deal"

Does the car salesman show you the front window of their showroom when you go looking for a new RV? No, of course not, he takes you to the one that pays the best commission.