Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

 



Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

 



 

 www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!



Photo
- - - - -

Can I Redirect To 2 Different Websites


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Marchy

Marchy

    HR 4

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 248 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted 03 December 2011 - 11:54 AM

I have 2 website in the field of addiction. One drugs and the other one for alcohol. I have a 3rd website that is about addiction for a specific province in Canada. I end up with some search engine results that puts 2 of my sites like 1st and second so I want to correct this by redirecting the site for the province to the other sites so it does not deceive the visitors.

My question is this. I have pages on the province site that are related to Alcohol and some to drugs. The logical thing to do is to redirect the alcohol pages to the alcohol site and drug's one to the drug site.

Does it make sense to redirect one website to 2 other sites. Or will it flag something with Search Engines?

#2 Jill

Jill

    Recovering SEO

  • Admin
  • 32,982 posts

Posted 03 December 2011 - 01:28 PM

QUOTE
Does it make sense to redirect one website to 2 other sites.


Makes sense to me.

#3 Marchy

Marchy

    HR 4

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 248 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted 04 December 2011 - 11:41 AM

I did one a few months ago wich was really good and the right thing to do but it was from one site to one site. I used the webmaster tools using the change of address and everything went smooth and perfect. I was just a little confused if I do it on 2 sites if I should do the change of address to the site that will have the most redirect or maybe I should not bother with it, Just do my redirect and that's it.

#4 chrishirst

chrishirst

    A not so moderate moderator.

  • Moderator
  • 7,018 posts
  • Location:Blackpool UK

Posted 04 December 2011 - 01:19 PM

QUOTE
I used the webmaster tools using the change of address and everything went smooth and perfect

And what about Yahoo!, Bing, your visitors, did they go check with Google webmaster tools to see if it has been moved?

#5 Jill

Jill

    Recovering SEO

  • Admin
  • 32,982 posts

Posted 05 December 2011 - 12:50 PM

QUOTE
Just do my redirect and that's it


Correct.

#6 Marchy

Marchy

    HR 4

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 248 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted 05 December 2011 - 10:35 PM

Thx Jill!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

SPAM FREE FORUM!
 
If you are just registering to spam,
don't bother. You will be wasting your
time as your spam will never see the
light of day!