Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

 



Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

 



 

 www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!



Photo

Google Search Provider Browser Plugin


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 1dmf

1dmf

    Keep Asking, Keep Questioning, Keep Learning

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,167 posts
  • Location:Worthing - England

Posted 16 June 2011 - 05:02 AM

Is anyone else finding that the Google search in the internet browser no longer works unless you complete a CAPTCHA?

It's starting to pee the staff off and they are reluctant to change it to Bing.

any ideas?

#2 Jill

Jill

    Recovering SEO

  • Admin
  • 32,961 posts

Posted 16 June 2011 - 06:58 AM

How do you always get these crazy problems. Sound like you have another rogue plug-in.

#3 1dmf

1dmf

    Keep Asking, Keep Questioning, Keep Learning

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,167 posts
  • Location:Worthing - England

Posted 16 June 2011 - 07:12 AM

lol - dunno, seems like I'm a trouble magnet!

It's not just one staff member either, but what I did notice is the google 'logo' that normally shows isn't , I am starting to think it could be dodgy!

Edit:-

Ok there is definately something dodgy going on between Google and MS , I uninstalled the search accelerator plugin, yet when you try to install it again, Google isn't in the list (well that weird scrolling box website thingy), so i seached for Google and it was displayed, I then clicked to install it and got an error about it not existing.

see screen shot.

Edited by 1dmf, 16 June 2011 - 07:48 AM.


#4 Jill

Jill

    Recovering SEO

  • Admin
  • 32,961 posts

Posted 16 June 2011 - 10:20 AM

I think keeping it uninstalled is probably a good idea.

#5 1dmf

1dmf

    Keep Asking, Keep Questioning, Keep Learning

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,167 posts
  • Location:Worthing - England

Posted 16 June 2011 - 12:45 PM

I agree, but do you want to tell my users please! omg.gif

#6 1dmf

1dmf

    Keep Asking, Keep Questioning, Keep Learning

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,167 posts
  • Location:Worthing - England

Posted 20 June 2011 - 09:03 AM

Well I'm getting conflicting answres from Panda & zScaler regarding this issue.

Firstly i got this reply from zScaler...

QUOTE
I am sorry for the Google Captcha issue you are encountering.
This happens when Google sees a large volume of traffic from a single IP.
We are working with them to gain exceptions for our IP ranges, and anticipate that soon no further sightings for this transient problem will be seen


But it seems the Google search plugin is no longer available to download?

Panda have told me they beleive the Google IE Search Provider plugin has been pulled?

Is this the case, wouldn't something like this have caused some ripples in the industry?

i can't find any info about the plugin being pulled?

#7 Jill

Jill

    Recovering SEO

  • Admin
  • 32,961 posts

Posted 20 June 2011 - 10:58 AM

Why don't you get an official google search plug in? There must be such a thing.

#8 1dmf

1dmf

    Keep Asking, Keep Questioning, Keep Learning

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,167 posts
  • Location:Worthing - England

Posted 20 June 2011 - 11:12 AM

It's meant to be the official G plugin isn't it, I'm a bit confised by all this.

Are you saying it's a bootleg from MS?

#9 Jill

Jill

    Recovering SEO

  • Admin
  • 32,961 posts

Posted 20 June 2011 - 11:14 AM

No idea. Who is panda and zscaler?

#10 1dmf

1dmf

    Keep Asking, Keep Questioning, Keep Learning

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,167 posts
  • Location:Worthing - England

Posted 21 June 2011 - 02:49 AM

Panda are one of the top anti-virus providers and zScaler provide their CIP 'Cloud Internet Protection' option via a PAK proxy service which includes internet policy compliancy, content monitoring & content filtering.

#11 Jill

Jill

    Recovering SEO

  • Admin
  • 32,961 posts

Posted 21 June 2011 - 08:31 AM

Why aren't the search queries coming from your own IP? Or are they? And if so, why would your IP being doing so many? Are you doing some sort of automated queries such as rank checking? That would account for having to do the captcha I think.

#12 chrishirst

chrishirst

    A not so moderate moderator.

  • Moderator
  • 6,934 posts
  • Location:Blackpool UK

Posted 21 June 2011 - 08:59 AM

If you are going via a proxy service hundreds of others probably are.

#13 1dmf

1dmf

    Keep Asking, Keep Questioning, Keep Learning

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,167 posts
  • Location:Worthing - England

Posted 22 June 2011 - 03:33 AM

That's right Chris, it is.

But they are claiming MS has pulled the plugin, yet I can't find any info on this, and Jill implies it isn't even an official Google plugin anyway.

I guess I'll just have to tell them to use Bing instead, saves the circles I currently seem to be going round in.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

SPAM FREE FORUM!
 
If you are just registering to spam,
don't bother. You will be wasting your
time as your spam will never see the
light of day!