• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo

Facebook, Twitter & Linked Sign In Incorporated Into Your Site Or

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 DJKay

DJKay

HR 5

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 355 posts

Posted 09 June 2011 - 04:14 PM

Hi Folks,

I am not a developer but I have been looking over the various APIs for Facebook, Linkedin and Twitter.

I have seen lots of sites use this type of mechanism for sign up and sign in types of activities. In most of the cases, you get access to some sort of cherished "id" and the usual suspects type of data..name, email address, etc.

I am trying to ascertain what other value can be drawn from it other than convenience, i.e. can we program it so they are immediate followers of our twitter page, facebook page, linkedin group, etc.?

I have posted out on their forums but the people on them are developers/it people and not probably in the position to answer this type of question more fully. I have not had anyone reply back to me...so I am putting it out here....

Has anyone does this? How did you use the API and what has been the value that your adding to your customer/prospect? Put simply, What's in it for them (other than convenience) and what's in for you (the business owner)?

Thanks in advance.

#2 Jill

Jill

Recovering SEO

• Admin
  • 32,885 posts

Posted 10 June 2011 - 08:24 AM

I'm not exactly sure what you're talking about, it I think perhaps you mean when sites that need you to register for something, or to register to comment, allow you to use your Facebook or Twitter login to do so.

Is that what you're asking?