• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Google Places Page Hates Me

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Andy1342

Andy1342

HR 3

• Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 75 posts

Posted 05 June 2011 - 04:41 PM

Does anyone actually understand Google places? I don't.

I'm a therapist in a UK city. I have a lot of local competition for searches like "depression Gotham City" or "hypnotherapy Gotham City". I recently cleaned up my Google Places page: I put in lots of relevant keywords, a photo or two, and I placed entries supporting the postcode (= zipcode) in all the UK directories which my competitors have entries in. For a week or two my (otherwise excellent) site soared to be number 3. Then it dropped right to the bottom of the Places listings (on page two of the "see more Places results" pages. My organic ranking keeps me on page one, but way down underneath all the Places results. Boring!!!

Only a few of my competitors have any reviews, so I don't think that's the factor. Any ideas why Google either doesn't notice me or is even penalising me?

Cheers

Andrew

#2 OldWelshGuy

OldWelshGuy

Work is Fun

• 4,713 posts

Posted 05 June 2011 - 05:58 PM

is all your local information on your main website? if not then that right there is going to knock you down.

You have done right in ensuring that your site is listed in the local directories, but key here is ensuring that the title in the directories matches that which you are targeting.

Google changed their places algorithm massivley a few months back.

#3 Jill

Jill

Recovering SEO

• Admin
  • 33,244 posts

Posted 06 June 2011 - 08:55 AM