• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Horrible Mistakes Lead To Almost Total De-indexing

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 makos

makos

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 April 2011 - 07:45 AM

Dear SEO gurus and professionals,

Sorry for my bad English – I’m from small country from EU Baltic states.

Also I am totally new to SEO but there is an interesting project for me, at the same time I understand it could be difficult to start with, but anyway...

Short background:
This is an online bookstore in EU.
First site was launched on Joomla + Virtuemart in 2006 with 5-8K active products. Let’s assume the domain was “www.bookstore<storename_here>.lt”
Nothing any close to SEO was made (even meta tags were default “Joomla – the free blah, blah” etc, etc., no analytics as well).
The site was on 5-10 page in SERP (with local standard “bookstore” keywords).

In 2010 former marketing staff initiated project - the site was redesigned (also updated to newer versions of Joomla+Virtuemart) and new domain was used “www.e<storename_here>.lt”
And here several horrible mistakes were made (new domain was launched in November 2010):
1) No 301 redirects were made – simply added new domain “www.e<storename_here>.lt” and changed content on server.
2) Old domain “www.bookstore<storename here>.lt” is active and uses the same content. Also I cannot check if a link from the old search engine index (before CMS version change) will lead to the same content.
Both domains are using the same IP now and active.
3) Other technical problems (could be corrected fast enough) such as no SEF URLs, HTML validation errors, no ALT text for some clickable images, etc. etc…

Current statistics:
65% - direct traffic,