• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Dns Pointing Of Multiple Domains

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 DontIndexMyName

DontIndexMyName

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 April 2011 - 02:56 AM

notworthy.gif Hello guys! I'm new to High Rankings after discovering quality SEO topics and solutions in Google SERP, so I did the right thing and signed up!

I've been SEO'ing for about 3 years now but never ever messed around with pointing domains and testing the results thereof. So I need you to help me out with something here.

Lets say I have (W) my website and its domain and (D) I have gone and registered three DOMAINS.

(W) - Website
(D) - 3 newly registered and pointed domains

I've done some DNS pointing with the A and WWW records for all three new domains. So now when you go to (W), everything is still the same which is a good thing. When you go to (D) it shows my site but with the entered domain still displaying in the address bar.

How would search engines rank these new domains (D) since it now basically has (W)'s content on it? And as I'm suspecting, if the search engines does index (D) does this mean duplicate content?

Edited by DontIndexMyName, 21 April 2011 - 03:47 AM.

#2 Jill

Jill

Recovering SEO

• Admin
  • 33,009 posts

Posted 21 April 2011 - 06:41 AM

They would likely just choose one domain that they thought was the real one and index that. They may mistakenly index some pages of the others which would potentially split your PageRank.

It's preferable to 301 redirect the additional domains to your main one.

#3 DontIndexMyName

DontIndexMyName

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 April 2011 - 07:20 AM

QUOTE(Jill @ Apr 21 2011, 01:41 PM) View Post