Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

 



Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

 



 

 www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!



Photo
- - - - -

Link Juice


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 lisety

lisety

    HR 5

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 337 posts
  • Location:Concord, California

Posted 20 April 2011 - 03:26 PM

I run an ecotourism lodging directory and it's very helpful as a marketing tool for me to be able to tell lodges how many times someone clicked on their link on my site. I had a programmer create a database for me to do just this but I just realized that it changes the urls from something like hotel.com to mywebsite.com/counter.php?id=41 so I'm not giving them any link juice, am I? I love the database but now I'm worried that I need to ditch it (and the money I paid) so that I can give a hotel's website a PR boost. Any advice, I'm going girl_cray2.gif

#2 chrishirst

chrishirst

    A not so moderate moderator.

  • Moderator
  • 6,699 posts
  • Location:Blackpool UK

Posted 20 April 2011 - 04:01 PM

Use a permanent redirect from the counter page to the real site.

#3 lisety

lisety

    HR 5

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 337 posts
  • Location:Concord, California

Posted 20 April 2011 - 04:09 PM

Thanks for the quick reply. Now I need to figure out how to do a permanent redirect. I read through the post on this forum but I'm still a little lost, guess I have to keep reading...but geez, it's so long! I like simple.

Edited by lisety, 20 April 2011 - 09:33 PM.


#4 chrishirst

chrishirst

    A not so moderate moderator.

  • Moderator
  • 6,699 posts
  • Location:Blackpool UK

Posted 21 April 2011 - 04:08 PM

What server side code is the page using?

#5 lisety

lisety

    HR 5

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 337 posts
  • Location:Concord, California

Posted 21 April 2011 - 04:52 PM

I have no idea, I'm a little bit technically challenged whistling.gif The ending the database uses is php and I'm pretty sure it was created using MySQL. Does that help?

#6 chrishirst

chrishirst

    A not so moderate moderator.

  • Moderator
  • 6,699 posts
  • Location:Blackpool UK

Posted 22 April 2011 - 09:07 AM

Every chance it is coded in PHP then biggrin.gif

So the code probably simply does a basic redirect then
CODE
header("Location: target URI");
exit();

Which would give a 302 response

Have that changed to:
CODE
header("HTTP/1.1 301 Moved Permanently");
header("Location: target URI");
exit();
Which would then be a 301 response to the redirect.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

SPAM FREE FORUM!
 
If you are just registering to spam,
don't bother. You will be wasting your
time as your spam will never see the
light of day!