• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Putting Keyword Variations Of The Same Content Across Multiple Sites?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Maria83

Maria83

HR 2

• Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts

Posted 06 April 2011 - 07:38 PM

I work as a writer and currently have a client who is planning on having me write an article around a certain topic, upon which he is then going to place a slightly different keyword in many variations of that exact same article. The keywords will be location based keywords - so '(city) keyword'.

He's then going to place this article with the different keyword variations across a number of different blogs of individuals who are obviously located in the city they are trying to rank for.

I'm just wondering, will he still be able to rank for each of these articles? Or will they be too similar in nature with just that slight location change to be able to rank on each person's site?

#2 Jill

Jill

Recovering SEO

• Admin
  • 32,963 posts

Posted 06 April 2011 - 09:13 PM

It's an old tactic that had been working ok until some of the latest google updates. Right now it's a pretty dumb idea unless he can show you examples of it working well.

#3 Maria83

Maria83

HR 2

• Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts

Posted 06 April 2011 - 11:18 PM

QUOTE(Jill @ Apr 6 2011, 10:13 PM) View Post
It's an old tactic that had been working ok until some of the latest google updates. Right now it's a pretty dumb idea unless he can show you examples of it working well.