Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

 



Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

 



 

 www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!



Photo
- - - - -

Is Google Really Messed Up Right Now For You ?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 CalistaV

CalistaV

    HR 2

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts

Posted 06 April 2011 - 12:22 PM

Google results for me are Really JACKED UP right now...

I mean... I'm getting 3 sometimes 4 results from the Same Domain in the SERPs. Honestly I'm getting pissed. I don't want a full page of just 3 different domains from google (and I am logged out of google when doing this ).

At first I thought it would pass... but its been going on for like 2 weeks or more?

Anyone else seeing this?

#2 Michael Martinez

Michael Martinez

    HR 10

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,085 posts
  • Location:Georgia

Posted 06 April 2011 - 01:07 PM

QUOTE(CalistaV @ Apr 6 2011, 10:22 AM) View Post
Google results for me are Really JACKED UP right now...

I mean... I'm getting 3 sometimes 4 results from the Same Domain in the SERPs. Honestly I'm getting pissed. I don't want a full page of just 3 different domains from google (and I am logged out of google when doing this ).


You're seeing an algorithmic change that Google announced last year (I think that was in August but I don't have time to check).


#3 CalistaV

CalistaV

    HR 2

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts

Posted 06 April 2011 - 02:36 PM

QUOTE(Michael Martinez @ Apr 6 2011, 02:07 PM) View Post
You're seeing an algorithmic change that Google announced last year (I think that was in August but I don't have time to check).

Ya I remember that... I think it was to be implemented in Jan... but here we are in April dealing with what I consider Crap results.

Seriously... 3-4 Listings on the 1st page for 1 domain?



#4 Michael Martinez

Michael Martinez

    HR 10

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,085 posts
  • Location:Georgia

Posted 06 April 2011 - 03:14 PM

QUOTE(CalistaV @ Apr 6 2011, 12:36 PM) View Post
Ya I remember that... I think it was to be implemented in Jan... but here we are in April dealing with what I consider Crap results.

Seriously... 3-4 Listings on the 1st page for 1 domain?


Well, if it's YOUR domain, that's a good thing, right?

I have to admit to liking this functionality because, frankly, it happens a lot for my personal sites. I'm not saying I think it was the right or best thing Google could do -- but it's hard for me to complain about it right now.

#5 OldWelshGuy

OldWelshGuy

    Work is Fun

  • Moderator
  • 4,713 posts
  • Location:Neath, South Wales, UK

Posted 06 April 2011 - 06:27 PM

Yep, in the Uk we are seeing this up to 4 pages from the same site thing. it is great smile.gif

#6 Mikl

Mikl

    HR 5

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 299 posts
  • Location:Edinburgh, Scotland

Posted 07 April 2011 - 06:19 AM

QUOTE(OldWelshGuy @ Apr 6 2011, 06:27 PM) View Post
it is great


Unless the pages in question are from your competitors.


#7 CalistaV

CalistaV

    HR 2

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts

Posted 07 April 2011 - 10:17 PM

I think this is a blunder for Google.

If your getting a good ride from this.... try searching for something you really need to search for. I'm landing on sites... bouncing off them .. only to click again and hit the same crap site again. On the second bounce I then scan down for the next domain. By that time I have usually gone past 1/3rd to 1/2 of the page depending on if local results get pushed in my face.

I rarely have to go to page 2 because I set my Google to 30 results. but for the majority... this means having to go to page 2 more often.

#8 Michael Martinez

Michael Martinez

    HR 10

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,085 posts
  • Location:Georgia

Posted 08 April 2011 - 12:43 PM

You may have inadvertently made the problem worse for yourself by setting your search preferences to show 30 results per page. Even with this improvement that makes it more likely for Google to show multiple listings from one site, they still normally cluster multiple listings for many sites in their default page preferences. That clustering is disabled when you change your listings-per-page preference.

#9 OldWelshGuy

OldWelshGuy

    Work is Fun

  • Moderator
  • 4,713 posts
  • Location:Neath, South Wales, UK

Posted 08 April 2011 - 04:13 PM

QUOTE(Mikl @ Apr 7 2011, 07:19 AM) View Post
Unless the pages in question are from your competitors.


I find it great for research. seeing 4 pages really helps get a better handle on the way google is working the algorithm on a site. Just my 2c any how




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

SPAM FREE FORUM!
 
If you are just registering to spam,
don't bother. You will be wasting your
time as your spam will never see the
light of day!