• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Client Getting Bad Seo Advice

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Spider Silk Design

Spider Silk Design

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 01 December 2010 - 08:21 PM

I'm a web designer who's just been presented with a somewhat sticky situation: one of my clients has someone doing what is apparently intended to be SEO for their site, and from what I have seen thus far, this person doesn't seem to know what they're doing.

A couple of examples:
  • They suggested that all the URLs on the site should include a massive list of all nearby cities, whether or not the content of each specific page had anything to do with any of those cities or was indeed localized in any way, and said you could put up to 250 keywords into the filename of every page! (Which I suppose you theoretically can, but that certainly doesn't mean you should.
  • They said they were trying to optimize a particular (newly added and probably not yet indexed) page, but couldn't because "the link doesn't go to the page". It took me a while to parse this statement, but seems it was the fact that the new page wasn't showing up in Google yet, and an older page on the site was ranking higher for the phrase they were searching for. They seemed to interpret this as the link in the Google results being "broken", and wanted me to fix it, even though looking at the URL and title it was clear the link was to the older page, and was going exactly where it was supposed to.