Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

 



Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

 



 

 www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!



Photo
- - - - -

Multiple Results From A Single Domain On Google 1st Page


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 jsp1983

jsp1983

    HR 3

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Location:Blackpool, UK

Posted 09 October 2010 - 11:49 AM

I was surprised to see six results from the same domain for this query: http://www.google.co...lient=firefox-a - it also works with a number of variations on the end of the name.

That's the most I've ever seen!

What could possibly make this site/ search buck the 'query deserves diversity' element of search results for a term?

It's not as if there's a shortage of other sites to offer (4,400 results for that query) and the site doesn't appear to have been built with SEO in mind.

#2 Jill

Jill

    Recovering SEO

  • Admin
  • 32,863 posts

Posted 09 October 2010 - 02:26 PM

That's because it's a branded search which implies you are looking for the Brand's website. So that's what you get.

It's a new way of displaying results for those types of searches, which makes a lot of sense to me.

#3 jsp1983

jsp1983

    HR 3

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Location:Blackpool, UK

Posted 09 October 2010 - 03:05 PM

That's what I thought - but trying some vaguely comparative searches with restaurants of similar size and even recognised brands brought up two, at most, from the same domain.

I was just surprised to see that many on one page.

#4 chrishirst

chrishirst

    A not so moderate moderator.

  • Moderator
  • 6,663 posts
  • Location:Blackpool UK

Posted 16 October 2010 - 04:37 AM

http://www.highranki...h...c=44472&hl=

#5 estudientes

estudientes

    HR 1

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 23 October 2010 - 04:27 PM

QUOTE(Jill @ Oct 9 2010, 02:26 PM) View Post
That's because it's a branded search which implies you are looking for the Brand's website. So that's what you get.

It's a new way of displaying results for those types of searches, which makes a lot of sense to me.

What about this?
http://www.google.co...lient=firefox-a
There are three results from myanmars.net at the top.


#6 chrishirst

chrishirst

    A not so moderate moderator.

  • Moderator
  • 6,663 posts
  • Location:Blackpool UK

Posted 24 October 2010 - 07:51 AM

QUOTE(estudientes @ Oct 23 2010, 10:27 PM) View Post
What about this?
http://www.google.co...lient=firefox-a
There are three results from myanmars.net at the top.


And?

Google have been doing that for some search results for a couple of weeks now, sometimes you get that instead of "sitelinks".

It happens more if your query is fairly specific such as:

http://www.google.com/search?q=modtalk


And of you may also see "sitelinks" on a result that is not #1. It's simply Google working with, and testing their SERP UI.

Just one more reason [url=http://searchengineland.com/080131-071244.php]Why Rankings Are a Poor Measure of Success[/url]

#7 Jill

Jill

    Recovering SEO

  • Admin
  • 32,863 posts

Posted 24 October 2010 - 08:45 AM

QUOTE
What about this?
www.google.com/search?q=myanmar+cul...lient=firefox-a
There are three results from myanmars.net at the top.


Yeah, it is a little disturbing. I like to think they're only doing it when those top results from the one site really are the most relevant for the search query, but it could get dicey if they move further away from clustering.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

SPAM FREE FORUM!
 
If you are just registering to spam,
don't bother. You will be wasting your
time as your spam will never see the
light of day!