• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Meta Keywords Tag

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 krenerr

krenerr

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 04 October 2010 - 06:21 PM

I am pretty new to SEO. Since day 1, I have been aware of the debate over the use of the meta keywords tag. Some say that Google has not paid attention to it for years and that only Yahoo and Bing pay any attention to it. Yet from my own experience dealing with yahoo, I am certain that the keyword tag has had a direct result on rankings in the SERPs. It still seems very difficult to get a straight answer...and maybe there isn't one, but I thought I would ask all the experts out there!

Thanks.

#2 Michael Martinez

Michael Martinez

HR 10

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,157 posts

Posted 04 October 2010 - 09:21 PM

QUOTE(krenerr @ Oct 4 2010, 04:21 PM) View Post
I am pretty new to SEO. Since day 1, I have been aware of the debate over the use of the meta keywords tag. Some say that Google has not paid attention to it for years and that only Yahoo and Bing pay any attention to it. Yet from my own experience dealing with yahoo, I am certain that the keyword tag has had a direct result on rankings in the SERPs. It still seems very difficult to get a straight answer...and maybe there isn't one, but I thought I would ask all the experts out there!

Thanks.

As far as pre-Bing Yahoo! goes, yes, the keywords meta tag helped (in some fashion). It also (has) helped with Ask (I haven't checked lately).

Google and Bing ignore the keywords meta tag. Since Yahoo! is now using Bing's database/algorithm, it follows that the meta tag is probably no longer helping with Yahoo!.

#3 qwerty

qwerty

HR 10

• 8,627 posts