• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Keyword Research Issues

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Mehdi

Mehdi

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 17 September 2010 - 09:46 AM

Hello Everyone!

I am new to SEO and this forum. I do have a little knowledge, but I am always ready to update it. These days, I am looking to optimize one of my websites. Its an informational website that translates all the English content to 56 languages.
I am not able to choose the right keywords for my website. Taking an example of this keyword, "Russian Article", I'll try to explain my question to you guys:

01- Who are my competitors? The ones that use "Russian Articles" in their website title only, OR also the ones that do not use "Russian Articles" in their website title (but somewhere on some page) and still appear in Search Engine results pages?

For instance, the total number of websites that use "Russian Articles" in their website title is "701". But when I don't use the "allintitle" syntax, the total number of competitors for the search term, "Russian Articles" is 127,000,000. Who are my competitors? If the competitors are 701, then I can optimize my website using this keyword. But if the number of competitors is 127,000,000, I don't think its rational to go with this. What should I do?
How do you guys perform keyword research? Can anyone help me here?
:-)

#2 Michael Martinez

Michael Martinez

HR 10

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,157 posts

Posted 17 September 2010 - 12:37 PM

Technically, your competitors are any sites that appear in whatever keywords for which you want to draw traffic. Whether they use those keywords or not doesn't really matter.