• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Removing A Ton Of No Follow Tags--should I Worry?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 eteare

eteare

HR 2

• Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts

Posted 01 September 2010 - 04:03 PM

Started at a new company, doing in-house SEO. We are working on their footer, where they now have everything no followed. Now, I am not a big proponent of link sculpting, which (I think) is why a predecessor of mine added no follows to all those links. But the pages have good, meaningful, keyword rich content that I want the engines to spider. And the directories aren't that deep; might add a total of 20 more pages that can be followed.

So anyway, my inclination is to say, remove all the no follow tags. But this change will affect tens of millions of pages. Yikes! I am afraid making a change like this might affect our rankings significantly. And SEOMoz has me all freaked out that bad things will happen. But that doesn't change my mind that link sculpting is wrong.

What's a girl to do? Remove one no follow link at a time, say during each monthly iteration? Take them all up and throw the results to the gods?

Any advice, resources, etc. great appreciated.

Erin

#2 qwerty

qwerty

HR 10

• 8,573 posts

Posted 01 September 2010 - 04:18 PM

I've always been opposed to the idea of PR sculpting, even when I thought it might work. I don't see the point in publishing a link if you don't want a search engine to follow it. So my opinion in this case is pretty obvious.