• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Host Location And Ridding A Site Of Cms

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Jakub

Jakub

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 31 July 2010 - 03:18 PM

Hi all !

I'm a beginner in the realm of SEO and this is my first post here... please be merciful...
I'm currently working on very young site (4mths old) made by some other people. It is a CMS driven site. Since its creation the customer realized that he won't be able to maintain it himself . Firstly the murkup is one big mess. Secondly, it's a site with .co.uk domain (UK based company targeting UK market only) but the host is physically located in another country.
The site is showing up in Google SERP's on 4th page for certain phrases at the moment.
Questions I have:
as CMS is not needed any more, from SEO perspective would you get rid of it? Let me stress that major changes are needed to the markup and content in general;
second of all, what influence the physical host location has on local searches (I've been looking for an answer to that for a while, and a lot of different opinions are floating out there)...

Any help on those issues, I will greatly appreciate. Thank you.

Above all, let me say one thing:
Jill, thank you. You have really inspired me.
Without experience in this field, I find it difficult sometimes to sift out the good advice from... well, say not so good advice smile.gif

Again, thank you all.
Jakub

#2 bobmeetin

bobmeetin

HR 6

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 533 posts

Posted 31 July 2010 - 06:07 PM