Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

 



Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

 



 

 www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!



Photo
- - - - -

IIS: 301 from default.aspx to root


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 qwerty

qwerty

    HR 10

  • Moderator
  • 8,695 posts
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 23 June 2010 - 12:22 PM

I'm working on a site that's hosted on censored.gif IIS. Redirects from non-www URLs to their www equivalents are already working (oddly enough, that was set up before I got involved with the site), but the search engines have indexed the site's home page at both domain.com/ and domain.com/default.aspx. I've found the pages that link to the home page the wrong way, but even if I fix those now, the damage has been done, and there's always the possibility some other site will link to default.aspx for some reason.

So I figure I need to set up a 301, and everything I'm reading online is telling me that there's no way to do this on IIS because it would set up a permanent loop. I'm hoping there's a script I can stick in the head of the page to fix this, but I searched through the forum's giant 301 thread and didn't see anything there either.

Am I going to have to settle for rel="canonical" and hope for the best?

#2 Jill

Jill

    Recovering SEO

  • Admin
  • 33,244 posts

Posted 23 June 2010 - 03:57 PM

Have you checked what Google shows for the cache? It's likely not a problem.

In other words, do a cache of /default.aspx and see if it says:

This is Google's cache of www.example.com
or if its says:
This is Google's cache of www.example.com/default.aspx

And do the same for the root.

They typically have them merged these days unless it's a really new site.

#3 qwerty

qwerty

    HR 10

  • Moderator
  • 8,695 posts
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 23 June 2010 - 04:29 PM

It's a pretty new site, although there was content on the domain years ago.

Google's cache of /default.aspx is labeled as the cache of /, so I guess that's good news. However, WMT reports that / and /default.aspx are two pages with the same title tag (which is how I found out about this).

#4 chrishirst

chrishirst

    A not so moderate moderator.

  • Moderator
  • 7,718 posts
  • Location:Blackpool UK

Posted 23 June 2010 - 04:45 PM

http://www.highranki...h...p;p=117701

#5 qwerty

qwerty

    HR 10

  • Moderator
  • 8,695 posts
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 23 June 2010 - 04:54 PM

Thank you, sir notworthy.gif

#6 qwerty

qwerty

    HR 10

  • Moderator
  • 8,695 posts
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 23 June 2010 - 05:13 PM

By the way, do I need to wrap that in something like
CODE
<%@ Language=VBScript %>
<%
...
%>

or
CODE
<script runat="server">
...
</script>

or do I just stick it as is (with the domain name changed, of course) right after the opening <head> tag?

#7 Jill

Jill

    Recovering SEO

  • Admin
  • 33,244 posts

Posted 23 June 2010 - 05:14 PM

Don't believe a word that GWT says!

Dontcha think it says the craziest things? I'm always amazed...

#8 qwerty

qwerty

    HR 10

  • Moderator
  • 8,695 posts
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 23 June 2010 - 05:24 PM

I think it's often out of date. For example, it's currently reporting some 404 errors on the site in question, and those links are not on the pages they say they're on. But I tend to find the information there pretty useful.

You don't use it?

#9 chrishirst

chrishirst

    A not so moderate moderator.

  • Moderator
  • 7,718 posts
  • Location:Blackpool UK

Posted 24 June 2010 - 07:30 AM

Just wrapping it in ASP delimiters in the document above the DTD should suffice.

<%
...
%>

the vBScript declaration is only required if the default scripting lanuage has been changed.


#10 Jill

Jill

    Recovering SEO

  • Admin
  • 33,244 posts

Posted 24 June 2010 - 07:47 AM

QUOTE
You don't use it?


I give it a look now and then, but take what it says with a grain of salt. Especially the link info (blech).

I like the new ranking info they give though. That's about the only useful thing I've found so far (for the most part).




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

We are now a read-only forum.
 
No new posts or registrations allowed.