• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

DMOZ and Yahoo

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 ocreef

ocreef

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 11 April 2010 - 04:23 PM

Hello All,

Newbie here... it's a pleasure to meet everyone. I look forward to a few interesting conversations to come.

Regarding Dmoz, I have been trying to get listed since 2007. Quite possibly, I've been listed on some of their channels, including AOL search etc.. But as far as dmoz.org goes, my url is not listed. I've heard that by contacting the person in charge of your related category can give you a 50/50 shot..., however I cannot find their email on those relating pages.

I've even applied to become an editor on dmoz for my related pet industry, which I actually would of loved doing, besides that fact of the inclusion of my own url.... but they denied me, stating I only had my own web-store in my best interest, and not my related subject. If they only knew I was genuinely interested, plus I have twenty -five years experience with the marine animals that I sell products for.

Questions:

What is everyones thoughts on paying the $299 to be listed on the Yahoo! Directory? Is it worth it?

Can anyone recommend alternatives to advertising other than the norm... i.e. Google Adwords, Yahoo and Ask?

Lastly where can I get a good reputable and affordable seo package, without paying hundreds of dollars per month? Does this even exist?

Thanks for the help guys and gals....

#2 Cappymoo

Cappymoo

HR 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 12 April 2010 - 02:50 AM

QUOTE(ocreef @ Apr 11 2010, 04:23 PM) View Post