• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo
- - - - -

Facebook Profile Vs. Fan Page Dilemma

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 AmyClark

AmyClark

HR 2

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts

Posted 24 March 2010 - 03:31 PM

Hello,

I've been working for a few months with a company on their Web marketing. I recently set up a Facebook fan page for them, and we're working away at posting relevant content, and trying to engage and start conversations with their customers on a more informal level. When I came on board, everyone in the business had Facebook profiles already established for their own personal use, but didn't want them connected to their business page. I thought that was fine at first, but as I'm trying to promote their page, I'm realizing that not having a personal profile connected to their business page is quite limiting. I can't join groups and become fans of other businesses, etc. So I feel like I'm just waiting for people to find us and not giving us a real shot to grow in this network.

When I presented my concern to everyone, they asked if I could setup a fake profile with a name that's perhaps a spin-off of one of their products. I immediately was against the idea. The purpose of social media is to be yourself, be real, and genuine. If we create a fake profile, I'm concerned we may be penalized by Facebook, or just not taken seriously by potential fans and customers using the network.