• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo

Seo, How Did You Get Into It?

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Narcotic

Narcotic

HR 2

• Active Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts

Posted 16 March 2010 - 12:32 PM

I found it by accident after messing around with social networks as a promotion stunt.

I'm a DJ / Producer and my myspace wasn't showing as the top result in google, not even on the first page at one point and I had no idea why. Now it does and I seem to have a bit of a thing for SEO.

How did you get started?

#2 qwerty

qwerty

HR 10

• 8,611 posts

Posted 16 March 2010 - 12:42 PM

After going back to school to become a software developer, I got my first job as a programmer, but the company that hired me used a development environment that made no sense to me. I never really got good at working with it.

Luckily, they had other roles for me to take on, and since their website at the time was one page with an AOL email address, it was pretty easy to convince them that one of those roles ought to be webmaster. The company's marketing guy told me I should read up on using the site to market the company. We hired a design firm to create a new site for them, and by the time they finished (it took a lot longer than we'd been promised, of course), I had learned enough to see that our brand new site kind of sucked.

#3 Randy

Randy

Convert Me!

• 17,540 posts

Posted 16 March 2010 - 02:30 PM