• Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!

Photo

Google Adwords

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Margaret

Margaret

HR 2

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 24 February 2010 - 08:47 AM

Hi folks

I am new to Google Adwords and figuring it out very slowly - its an age thing.......

I have set up an initial campaign with about 25 key words very specifically targeted around car hire at Inverness Airport with 6 potential ads. After reading some of the forum posts here I have disabled both mobile devices and content network. I have set my budget per day quite low to start with at 5 and automatic bidding however so far it has not cost more than 1 per day. Now I know that sounds positive but despite the fact it says the campaign is running and, so far today reports one of my ads was displayed 92 times, I can't see my ad being displayed whenever I look - using the Opportunities Ad Preview tool as recommended by Google.

Had no return on investment so far - only one enquiry out of three hits yesterday was from a French company running golf vacations looking for a link to their site!

Am I doing something wrong?

Margaret

#2 Jill

Jill

Recovering SEO

• Admin
  • 32,876 posts

Posted 24 February 2010 - 09:11 AM

From my understanding, it's best to open up your budget pretty high when you're first running your ads so that you can be sure your ads are displayed all the time.

Then after a month or so of data you can cull out the non-performing keywords and ads and also know how to set your budget.

#3 Margaret

Margaret

HR 2

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 24 February 2010 - 02:45 PM

QUOTE(Jill @ Feb 24 2010, 10:11 AM) View Post