Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Subscribe to HRA Now!

 



Are you a Google Analytics enthusiast?

Share and download Custom Google Analytics Reports, dashboards and advanced segments--for FREE! 

 



 

 www.CustomReportSharing.com 

From the folks who brought you High Rankings!



Photo
- - - - -

Magical Splash Page


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Hughv

Hughv

    HR 2

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 12 February 2010 - 04:03 PM

I'm helping a friend with this page:
<removed see [url=http://www.highrankings.com/forum/index.php?act=boardrules]Forum Rules[/url] >
Google Analytics tells us we're getting a 25% bounce rate on the splash page (Can that really be true?) and we'd like to get rid of it.
I've gotten help from a couple of sites, and have tried numerous fixes, to no avail.
How is that "Enter" being generated? I know it's the javascript, but I have commented it out and renamed it and it still appears.
Here's the index page as it appears on the server:

HTML
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
<title>Celia Pearson | Photographer</title>
<meta name="verify-v1" content="eSp+jfLjBLD0VnUfutz4U+v07xrKmFktigV/yohrxpY=" />
<meta name="description" content="Celia Pearson Photography, Her Story" />
<meta name="keywords" content="Celia Pearson, photographer, biography, her story" />
<link rel="stylesheet" href="/css/global.css" type="text/css" media="screen" />
<link rel="stylesheet" href="/css/01.css" type="text/css" media="screen" />
<link rel="stylesheet" href="/css/print2.css" type="text/css" media="print" />
&lt;script src="/js/fadeslideshow.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
<!--&lt;script src="/js/protoculous.js" type="text/javascript"></script>-->
<style type="text/css">
/*#box02 div span, #box02 div a {display:none;}*/
</style>
</head>


<body>
<?php include("http://celiapearson.com/includes/header.php"); ?>

<div id="box03">
<div>

<?php include("http://celiapearson.com/homepage.php"); ?>

</div>
</div>

<div id="slideshow">&lt;script type="text/javascript">new fadeshow(fadeimages, 150, 150, 0, 4000, 1, "R");</script></div>

<?php include("http://celiapearson.com/includes/footer.php"); ?>



</body>
</html>

I can supply any additional files or info needed.


TIA

Edited by chrishirst, 12 February 2010 - 04:34 PM.


#2 chrishirst

chrishirst

    A not so moderate moderator.

  • Moderator
  • 6,659 posts
  • Location:Blackpool UK

Posted 12 February 2010 - 04:36 PM

QUOTE
and we'd like to get rid of it.


Just FTP in and delete would be far and away the best solution.


#3 cfreek

cfreek

    AAAHHHH!!1one1!

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Location:Richmond, Virginia, Earth

Posted 12 February 2010 - 04:45 PM

Have you tried removing this code from index.php and index2.php?

<div id="enter">
<h2>Celia Pearson <span>Photographer</span></h2>
..... some other text and HTML ....
</div>

#4 Hughv

Hughv

    HR 2

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 12 February 2010 - 04:47 PM

QUOTE(chrishirst @ Feb 12 2010, 04:36 PM) View Post
Just FTP in and delete would be far and away the best solution.


I've already done that (I renamed index.php) and it had no effect whatever.
The page is being generated in some mysterious way that I, and two others, just don't understand.


#5 cfreek

cfreek

    AAAHHHH!!1one1!

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Location:Richmond, Virginia, Earth

Posted 12 February 2010 - 05:05 PM

QUOTE(Hughv @ Feb 12 2010, 04:47 PM) View Post
The page is being generated in some mysterious way that I, and two others, just don't understand.


It doesn't look like it's a page at all. It's a <div> (see above post). I haven't dug in to the code, but it is more than likely position:absolute'ed on top of the content of the homepage. The link in the <div> (splash page) hides the div, thus allowing the homepage to be seen.

Removing the lines mentioned above *should* be all that is needed. If you end up seeing a javascript error after the <div> is removed, I can find the additional line(s) that would need removing.

Edit, added: The lines are at the end of the files, before the closing body tag.

Edited by cfreek, 12 February 2010 - 05:11 PM.


#6 Hughv

Hughv

    HR 2

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 12 February 2010 - 05:15 PM

QUOTE(cfreek @ Feb 12 2010, 04:45 PM) View Post
Have you tried removing this code from index.php and index2.php?

<div id="enter">
<h2>Celia Pearson <span>Photographer</span></h2>
..... some other text and HTML ....
</div>


Those lines don't appear in inde or index2
index2:

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
<title>Celia Pearson | Photographer</title>
<meta name="description" content="Celia Pearson Photography, Her Story" />
<meta name="keywords" content="Celia Pearson, photographer, biography, her story" />
<link rel="stylesheet" href="/css/global.css" type="text/css" media="screen" />
<link rel="stylesheet" href="/css/01.css" type="text/css" media="screen" />
<link rel="stylesheet" href="/css/print2.css" type="text/css" media="print" />
<script src="/js/fadeslideshow.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
<!--<script src="/js/protoculous.js" type="text/javascript"></script>-->
</head>


<body>

<?php include("http://celiapearson.com/includes/header.php"); ?>

<div id="box03">
<div>

<?php include("http://celiapearson.com/homepage.php"); ?>

</div>
</div>

<div id="slideshow"><script type="text/javascript">new fadeshow(fadeimages, 150, 150, 0, 4000, 1, "R");</script></div>

<?php include("http://celiapearson.com/includes/footer.php"); ?>



</body>
</html>

#7 chrishirst

chrishirst

    A not so moderate moderator.

  • Moderator
  • 6,659 posts
  • Location:Blackpool UK

Posted 12 February 2010 - 05:20 PM

This is the offending code
CODE
<h3><a href="java script:Effect.toggle('enter','appear');">Enter</a></h3>


IT fades out

HTML
<div id="enter">
<h2>Celia Pearson <span>Photographer</span></h2>
<p>Thank you for your consideration and respect.<br />
All photographs appearing in this website are the property of Celia Pearson<br />

and are protected under United States and International copyright laws.<br />
&copy; 2009 Celia Pearson. All rights reserved.</p>
<h3><a href="java script:Effect.toggle('enter','appear');">Enter</a></h3>
</div>


and fades in <div id="box01">


set the visibility of box01 to visible and display to block and delete the "enter" element totally.

who ever designed that hasn't a CLUE because it fails totally without javascript.

#8 cfreek

cfreek

    AAAHHHH!!1one1!

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Location:Richmond, Virginia, Earth

Posted 12 February 2010 - 05:28 PM

I don't see where the enter div is showing up at all, except when viewing the homepage, in any of the includes.

Is it possibly in the footer.php file with a REQUEST_URI (or similar) to only show on the homepage...?

#9 chrishirst

chrishirst

    A not so moderate moderator.

  • Moderator
  • 6,659 posts
  • Location:Blackpool UK

Posted 12 February 2010 - 05:42 PM

Possibly, It's definitely somewhere on the server.

#10 Hughv

Hughv

    HR 2

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 12 February 2010 - 05:54 PM

QUOTE(chrishirst @ Feb 12 2010, 05:42 PM) View Post
Possibly, It's definitely somewhere on the server.


footer.php was the first place I looked (A week ago).
This has been quite a journey and it's very odd to me as I can usually figure these things out.

Footer.php

<p id="webdesign"><a href="http://chestertownwebdesign.com">Site created by Brillworks: Chestertown Web Design</a></p>

<p id="copyright">ę 2009 Celia Pearson</p>
<div id="box04">
<ul>
<li id="icon01b"><a href="http://celiapearson.com/herstory/">Her Story</a></li>
<li id="icon02b"><a href="http://celiapearson.com/exhibition/">Exhibition</a></li>
<li id="icon03b"><a href="http://celiapearson.com/news/">News</a></li>
<li id="icon04b"><a href="http://celiapearson.com/portfolios/">Portfolios</a></li>
<li id="icon06b"><a href="http://celiapearson.com/abouttheprints/">AboutátheáPrints</a></li>
<li id="icon05b"><a href="http://celiapearson.com/books/">Books</a></li>
<li id="icon07b"><a href="http://celiapearson.com/assignments/">Assignments</a></li>
<li id="icon10b"><a href="http://celiapearson.com/speaking/">Speaking</a></li>
<li id="icon08b"><a href="http://celiapearson.com/purchasing/">Purchasing</a></li>
<li id="icon09b"><a href="http://celiapearson.com/contact/">Contact</a></li>
</ul>
<br />
</div>
<br />
&lt;script type="text/javascript">
var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https://ssl." : "http://www.");
document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src='" + gaJsHost + "google-analytics.com/ga.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E"));
</script>
&lt;script type="text/javascript">
var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-1892856-10");
pageTracker._trackPageview();
</script>

It's not in the other includes either, but I'll post them if you want to see them.




#11 Hughv

Hughv

    HR 2

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 12 February 2010 - 05:56 PM

QUOTE(chrishirst @ Feb 12 2010, 05:42 PM) View Post
Possibly, It's definitely somewhere on the server.


I agree, and I admit to being of limited knowledge, but no one else has been able to tell me where it is.


#12 cfreek

cfreek

    AAAHHHH!!1one1!

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Location:Richmond, Virginia, Earth

Posted 12 February 2010 - 07:21 PM

If I browse to yourDomain/includes/footer.php and view the source, I am seeing some of the Google Analytics code and closing script tag twice. The site, however, does not do this.

At this point, without being able to see the actual files on the server I'd mainly be taking guesses.
All I can see from 'outside', is that something extra is being included

Do you have shell (ssh) access to the server? If so, I would grep for the wording.
If not, you could download the site's php files and do a search with DreamWeaver or Windows search.

QUOTE
who ever designed that hasn't a CLUE because it fails totally without javascript.

I have to wonder if it's the same people who hid their designed by link in the site...?

#13 Hughv

Hughv

    HR 2

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 12 February 2010 - 08:18 PM

QUOTE(cfreek @ Feb 12 2010, 07:21 PM) View Post
If I browse to yourDomain/includes/footer.php and view the source, I am seeing some of the Google Analytics code and closing script tag twice. The site, however, does not do this.

At this point, without being able to see the actual files on the server I'd mainly be taking guesses.
All I can see from 'outside', is that something extra is being included

Do you have shell (ssh) access to the server? If so, I would grep for the wording.
If not, you could download the site's php files and do a search with DreamWeaver or Windows search.
I have to wonder if it's the same people who hid their designed by link in the site...?


I noticed the "Designed by" link and sort of wondered about that.

I have already downloaded the site and searched using Wndows(7) search, but maybe you could suggest which string I should be trying to find?
I'm sure I have shell access, but I don't know anything about that, or grep.

The significance of this escapes me:"who ever designed that hasn't a CLUE because it fails totally without javascript."

#14 cfreek

cfreek

    AAAHHHH!!1one1!

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Location:Richmond, Virginia, Earth

Posted 12 February 2010 - 10:36 PM

QUOTE
I have already downloaded the site and searched using Wndows(7) search, but maybe you could suggest which string I should be trying to find?

I would search for href="java script:Effect.toggle('enter','appear')


QUOTE
I'm sure I have shell access, but I don't know anything about that, or grep.


If you do, you should be able to use putty and connect to your web site address.
It's been a while since I used grep, but you should be able to do something like:
grep "href=\"java script:Effect.toggle('enter','appear')" ./ -R
from your root public html directory

QUOTE
The significance of this escapes me:"who ever designed that hasn't a CLUE because it fails totally without javascript."

As soon as the site is viewed, the user receives the "splash page".
The link to "enter the site" uses javascript to switch to the homepage. What this means, is any user without javascript enabled cannot close the splash page and get to the homepage, and is essentially stuck.

Edit: looks like the forum adds a space in "javascript", make sure that is removed.

Edited by cfreek, 13 February 2010 - 12:44 AM.


#15 Mhoram

Mhoram

    HR 4

  • Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 114 posts
  • Location:Quincy, Illinois, USA

Posted 13 February 2010 - 08:48 AM

On a Unix system, something like this would tell you what file the offending code is in.
CODE
find . -type f -print0 | xargs -0 grep -l "Effect.toggle('enter','appear')"

If you don't have shell access to the server, it's usually possible to run a command like that from within a CGI or PHP script.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

SPAM FREE FORUM!
 
If you are just registering to spam,
don't bother. You will be wasting your
time as your spam will never see the
light of day!